killerPOP


Liiiiisten! – Fuck Buttons by Christian BC

This is the inauguration of a new segment I’ma lay on you from time to time, wherein I highlight some hotness I’m into. Volume 1 features Bristol’s Fuck Buttons. OK, so they may have dropped their debut effort, Street Horrrsing, a year ago, but I just got around to checking them out, and I am sold. For those of you already hip, you can get back to the latest ep of From G’s To Gents. For the rest of ya’ll, soldier on.

This dude duo cranks out some sexy circuit-bending numbers, utilizing minimalist electronica and maximalist paranoia. When I first heard the album, I didn’t know whether to dance or pop some Ambien and get off my bad trip. But the anxiety-inducing vocals and skin-crawling digital rhythms hit me in the right spot. I felt like I was listening to post-punk for the new millennium. And not post-punk revival or the Rapture, or some shit like that. REAL post-punk, as if it was invented yesterday. Think early-!!! inseminating ’80s-Tuxedomoon. Or for a totally unrelated but fitting analogy, they sound like a metalcore band run through a vocoder. Yeah, that’s the ticket. Basically, they make a great turntable transition from a Crystal Castles cut.

Still don’t get it? Then hit up their website. After that, the rest is up to you.

– Christian BC

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

