killerPOP


Rad Vid(s) Of The Week by Christian BC

Yeahyehye. It’s been awhile since I’ve blogged. But I have a good excuse: I’ve been working like crazy on my band (shameless self-promotion). But to make it up, I’m slappin’ 3 hot vidjamz on thegrill. Now, none of these ain’t new ‘er nothin’, but they tasty for your eyes and ears so give ’em a play.

Animal Collective – My Girls

Now that AC are apparently the most popular band ever, I’m sure you have their new release, Merriweather Post Pavillion, and have seen the video for the first single, “My Girls.” If you haven’t, do yourself a favor and go watch it (all the way up above this paragraph). Though I was disappointed when the video didn’t shift to match the sonic shift in the song when it goes all party-mode, it still is a trippy fuckin’ video for a poppy ass song.

Ben Folds – You Don’t Know Me (feat. Regina Spektor)

Now I haven’t heard a note outta Benny’s mouth since “Brick,” and I dunno why he’s billing himself as a solo bro, when he’s still got two backup buddies like he did in his Ben Folds Five(-2) days, but this song is catchy, and this sentence is running on. The video is exquisitely executed by the saucy likes of TV & Internet’s Tim and Eric. And…I hope you get the same WTF! moment my friend Tom and I had towards the end when a celebrity we were both surprised we recognized pops his head in a few times.

the bird and the bee – Again & Again

Now every time I’m watching the Eric Wareheim directed pop vids, I always go from “Polite Dance Song” by the bird and the bee, to “Again & Again.” Aside from being a great song, the video is so crazysexycool. The band looks dapper, the contrasts between static and movement, jubilant and serious, are so delicious. Plus it’s got that whole French New Wave look that is très chic these days.

Hope your sensory organs enjoyed all those. Stay tuned for…

– Christian BC

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Ben Folds is solo now because Ben Folds Five was a collaberative effort between Ben Folds, Darren Jessee and Robert Sledge. They parted ways in 2000. Ben went to a four part band for the album Rockin’ the Suburbs (2001), was a one man show 2002-2004, reignited his three piece fun with Jared Reynolds and Lindsay Jamieson in 2005 with Songs for Silverman, and now, Way to Normal (2008) moments sometimes even have five (for real) members – Jared Reynolds, Sam Smith, Chad Chapin and Andrew Higley. However- Ben Folds has been the exclusive songwriter since 2001 in all his output.

The more you know. 😛

Comment by s

love that animal collective video

Comment by jackiecous

Thanks to the Ben Fold’s Fan Club president for dropping some knowledge.

Comment by christianbeforechruch




Leave a Reply

