killerPOP


Why Kanye West is Your Favorite Celebrity by jackiecous
November 23, 2008, 1:47 pm
Filed under: art, fashion, hip hop, Music | Tags: , , , ,

heart1

On the eve of the release of Kanye West’s first album on which his vocals are exclusively sung (the only rapping is done by guest rappers), I thought I’d do something other than a typical album review.  The album’s great, but you guys can figure that out yourselves.  What I decided to do instead is post a list of the reasons that Kanye West is your favorite celebrity.

He Has A Blog

blog

To think, before Kanye launched this blog you would’ve had to check multiple different websites to find photos of trippy european furniture designs (check!), dresses that look like hamburgers (check!), Akira cosplayers (check!), and pictures of supermodels in their underwear with “Where Are You Yeezy?” word bubbles drawn on in Photoshop (super check!).  The world is truly getting better all the time.

He Has Cool Friends

frenchdudes

Here’s a link to some recent photos of Kanye hanging out with a bunch of French people, including Ed Banger labelmates Busy P and So-Me.  It’s cool that you forgot to invite me, Ye, I was busy playing Fallout 3 anyway.

He’s Aware of Contemporary Art

skulls

And you thought that Murakami cover art for his last album was a one-time gimmick!  Yeezy regularly posts about folks like Damien Hirst (see above image), Kehinde Wiley (one of my favorite painters), and Kaws.  And now it looks like Kaws has designed the special-edition artwork for 808s & Heartbreaks.

He’s A Published Author

thankyou

Sure, his book is only about 30 pages long, and some of those pages have a total of 3 words on them and he had a co-author, but I’m not really sure how we survived before we had such words of wisdom as: “Love your haters.  They’re your biggest fans.”

He Says Things…

Honestly, probably the only person who generates more outrageous quotes than Kanye is George W. Bush (and maybe Gary Busey).  Kanye has given the world such gems as “George Bush doesn’t care about black people,” “Every time I make an album, I’m trying to make a cure for cancer, musically. That stresses me out,” “If I don’t win, the awards show loses credibility,” and the latest: “I don’t even listen to rap.  My apartment is too nice to listen to rap in.”

Yeezy, KillerPOP salutes you.

-Jackie Cous

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Dude, I was so stoked cus I thought you made that background for the banner but then I saw that is just a promo pic. They totally jacked your fuckin’ style!!!

Comment by Christian BC




Leave a Reply

