killerPOP


Meet The New Emo Glasses by jackiecous
November 1, 2008, 6:19 am
Filed under: fashion | Tags: ,

I remember when I was in high school (yes, I am dating myself here) there was a moment where everyone went totally bonkers over Buddy Holly/Rivers Cuomo black rimmed glasses, or as we called them, “emo glasses.”  So popular, these things were, that even kids whose eyes worked perfectly fine (me)  would wear fake, non-prescription versions to make sure people with actual impaired vision, who would ordinarily be ridiculed for wearing glasses, were not the only ones having all the fun.  Of course, we eventually got ahold of ourselves and decided to let people with a legitimate need for corrective eyewear have their “thing” to themselves once again.

Well, it seems it’s been just about long enough for us to have forgotten all that, and people everywhere with decent eyesight are once again itching to put on some functionless rims to look smart.  It’s a bizarre phenomenon, to which it’s difficult to find a comparison.  Perhaps the closest analogy would be wanting to ride around in a wheelchair even though your legs work just fine.  Well, it seems the fashion world has heard the call and responded with these super-rad 80s throwback frames, complete with useless plastic lenses.  These three offenders were found at (you guessed it) Urban Outfitters, but you can find similar gear elsewhere.  Now you can look like Kanye West (he doesn’t need those, does he?) or DMC without even visiting your local optometrist.

Seriously, though, you’ll probably see me around wearing these.  Sorry, I can’t help myself.

-Jackie Cous

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

(me) too. But I wore them because of this:

(1:50 in)

Comment by Christian BC

I want to get some of these with my prescription in them. But right now I’m unemployed.

Also, there’s some html showing up at the bottom of this post after the line “Line and paragraph breaks automatic, e-mail address never displayed, HTML allowed:” I’m using Firefox on a Mac.

Comment by personadondada

there’s an eyewear boutique in Orlando called SEE that could make them for you custom for a couple hundred bucks, but dunno if prescriptions cost extra

Comment by jackiecous




Leave a Reply

