killerPOP


Punk Saturdays: Monday: Punk Primer Mix by Christian BC

To coincide with jackie cous defecting to PDD, I’ve decided to revolt against the man (and jc is The Man) and post my own mix/first mix.

I sifted through my plethora of punk to find 10 of the tastiest jamz that you need to hear, re-hear, or un-hear then hear. Now, some of you nitpickers might say: “But Christian, you forgot my favorite punk band, The New Radicals!” But I couldn’t put everything on here, I settled for 10 of my fav tracks by my fav bands. we’ve got tunez from both sides of the pond and both waves of said pond. So eat ’em up motherfuckers.

I can’t figure out how to embed the player properly, so for now just visit it here.

Swell Maps – Read About Seymour : This is one of the seminal punk classics, cut by the 6 members as their debut single, “Read About Seymour” shows the Maps penchant for balancing punk, pop, and noise. You’ll never listen to blur the same way after this.

Television Personalities – Part Time Punks : A ditty on the poseurs of the day, these ultra-lofi Brits even give the first song on this mix a shout out.

Richard Hell & The Voidoids – I’m Your Man : This comes from the bonus tracks added to the Blank Generation CD re-release though it seamlessly fits with the rest of the album. One of the great overlooked love songs of our time.

Suicide – Johnny : Suicide were one of those first wavers who not only straddled the punk/post-punk line, but even the proto-punk/punk line. Ahead of their time and peers by blood-curdling, synthesized leaps and bounds, “Johnny” takes 50s greasers’ B-movie and horror fetish and makes it real.

Ramones – Today Your Love, Tomorrow The World : One of the greatest songs ever by one of the greatest bands ever. I’m a Nazi baby, I’m a Nazi, yes I am.

Throbbing Gristle – United : I wanted to put this in my TG post a few weeks ago, but didn’t know how to post the track, so here it is now. I can’t help but feel that their version of unity would involve some form of symbiotes from another world and robotic mass consciousness.

Wire – Outdoor Miner (Single Version) : Shorter than the cut on Chairs Missing, this single version offers some added harmonies and a nice succinctness. If you don’t have every album by Wire, go get them.

The Dead Boys – Down In Flames : Top 5 greatest bands names of all time (post pending). This jam, from the days of Rocket From The Tombs, gave the band their name. Highlight: Stiv Bators’ mid-song chant from space hell.

Pere Ubu – Ubu Dance Party : Sometimes I have wet dreams about traveling back in time and going to one of the king’s eponymous boogey bashes. This is another song that makes you question whether some of the first wave punks were really first wave post-punks. But who cares, just get down.

Iggy & The Stooges – Death Trip : The last track on the era destroying Raw Power, “Death Trip” lives up to it’s name. Just when you think it’s over, it comes back for more.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Nice mix. Three of my fave punk bands up in here — Television Personalities, Pere Ubu and Richard Hell & the Voidoids. One time I saw Richard Hell walking down the street in St. Mark’s Place and followed him into a McDonald’s before I decided to casually leave before he started noticing I was being a creepy stalker.

I’ve seen Pere Ubu twice live, and both times have been some of the best shows I’ve ever seen (the band’s last album, ‘Why I Hate Women’, was actually really good). David Thomas dresses like Colonel Sanders, and he always goes on crazy rants in between songs. The best two were one about how the politicans want to take your SUVs away from you, and the other one was a fake story about how he was hanging out with Sting and Sting said he should write some songs about the environment, but David Thomas just wanted to write songs about getting drunk in shitty bars. A true American legend.

Comment by Joel

Also, I fucking love ‘Raw Power’. It’s always overlooked in place of ‘Fun House’, but it’s probably my favorite Stooges album.

Comment by Joel

First off, you totally kick the crap out of me then for punk cred. The first time I came to the Bowery, I had a secret boner hoping I’d see Richard Hell just hanging out. I’m gonna eat so much McDonald’s now.
I’d love to see some live Crocus Behemoth. He’s an American God.
And as for the Stooges, Raw Power is hands down the best album. Punk wouldn’t even exist without that album. It’s so good, it actually makes me not hate David Bowie as much.

Comment by Christian BC

Oh man, how can you hate David Bowie? Loves me that Bowie.

Comment by personadondada

I don’t hate him so much anymore, just not as huge fan. But “not hate David Bowie so much” sounded better than “think more highly of David Bowie whom I didn’t have a very high opinion of outside of this instance.”

Comment by Christian BC




Leave a Reply

